Learning Journal Six

Step Two:

This week, I acknowledge that I have to reinforced and renew my current understand on revision when looking on a piece of writing assignment.  I learn that I need to accept the judgement of others in order to help improve my writing that would allow others to understand the message that I’m trying to convey to them. Resulting in me too not get attached to my writing work when allowing others to revise my piece of literature work. I learn that there are seven key elements that should be focused when revising a peer’s writing assignment in order to allow their work to flourish and improve. During my future encounter when I stumble upon a peer in need for a revision of their writing, I needed to keep in mind the seven elements of revision, but the most important part beside the seven elements is what is the peer/author trying to convey to their specific readers and how I go upon that problem to allow the peer to connect with his intended audience.

Step Three:

I learn that as a writer, I have to accept the criticism of other when allowing them to revise my draft in order to get the perspective of a reader for a specific audience to understand the main message of my passage. I learn that as a writer, our common enemy is ourselves trying to protect our writing reputation of others by allowing ourselves to detach from the piece of writing when accepting the judgement when allowing others to revise that draft. I learn that I have to listen to myself and actually really hear what I’m saying instead of making an assumption that he reader may know about when I’m trying to speak to a specific audience. I learn the seven key elements when revising a piece of literature work when confronted by a peer to revise their work; Subject, Audience, Form, Structure, Development, Dimensions, and Tone in chronological order.

Step Four:

Based on the feedback of the living picture narrative assignment from my peers and my teacher, I learn that I need to focus on the perspective of my story on the subject more than the technical things that is needed to understand a story that I’m trying to convey. In order for the living picture narrative to be living, I need to incorporate both my observation and my thoughts in the pass of my life in order to understand that givens need in this assignment. Once I acknowledge all my givens from my memory of my pass, I need to find a route that will allow the living picture narrative to connect to the readers whether or not they have similar experiences that is portrayed in the assignment. After having an idea on where I should focus on allowing the text to connect to the reader, I should then focus on incorporating the seven elements that I learned in step three in the reading “The Maker’s Eye” by Donald Murray.

Step Five:

  • Focus on connecting to the reader by sharing your experience that the technical things needed to understand the story
  • Focus on a subject that allow the reader to understand the purpose of the living picture narrative assignment
  • Sharpen the captions on the picture to help the readers narrow down their perspective in order to understand the message of the overall assignment
2 thoughts on “Learning Journal Six”

  1. It’s good that you have accepted the comments people have made on your writing because now you can better your writing. Also I think Murray’s seven key elements are very important when revising someones paper. Since we are getting to our 3rd draft of the living picture narrative you can also add to your plan about fixing the minor mistakes too like spelling, punctuation, and grammar. Just to get a whole polished paper.

    Like

  2. I like how you learned from your past experience to improve your writing. I can clearly see your improvement and how you advanced your wriitng. Also, I think it’s a great idea for you to apply what you have learned to other classes and fields. For your revision plan, it’s clear. I think it’s better for you to think about whether your thesis is clear in your introduction and whether your cnclusion connects to your thesis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

