Learning Journal One

Step One:

A change of perspective has shown a new meaning on what it means to write. Writing is not something to be finished to show off to others, but as a tool to connect with others allowing them to show empathy to the writer. Throughout my days from elementary school to the last day of high school, writing was a just a burden I needed to perfect in order to begin the first steps of my life goals. Until recently when attending University of California Davis in my freshman year that I realize every published work in the world is not flawless, but filled with error in the means of logical eyes of critical thinking. Every past strategy of writing that was based on what is labeled as “good” was crushed which allowed me to start a fresh meaning on what it means to write. As of now and probably all my future writings in my life will have a perspective of writing to connecting with others than to write to entertain them.

Step Two:

Image result for connecting 4k wallpaper

In my first week of taking the University Writing Program (UWP) at University of California Davis was the evidence I needed in order to confirm that writing is a process to connect with the intended audience. I feel as if every literary work I will partake in the future will have some influence to change who I am as an individual in society. There is no set things you have to do in the writing process, but merely the process to connect to a specific group of people in society. In my future days attending UWP, I expect a learn how to write in order to connect with all types of people throughout the world.

Image result for city 4k wallpaper

 Step Three and Four:

A:

The first step I do when I begin on a writing assignment is finding a place to write. I usually write in either the library or in my own room where it is peace and quiet. The second step of action is to finish the first draft on the very same day. The last step is to wait over forty-eight hours to clear my mind before revising the essay to address what I really mean in each paragraphs to the audience I’m portraying too.

B:writing_process

C:

I have chosen bubbl.us to create the bubble mapping to show the readers the steps in a simple diagram and bubble.us also saves the diagram automatically in a jpeg file.

The first and second step in the diagram shown above is the most critical writing process if you want to answer in the most accurate response. Without the correct interpretation on what the prompt is telling you, there is no way possible to get the most accurate response to the questions you do not understand. Step three allows the writer to answer the prompt personally in order to clear his mind before reading the passage of the prompt. Step four, five, six, and seven explains the actions needed to fully analyze the given passage and to prep the writer for the writing process. Step eight, nine, ten, and eleven explains the writing process describing the discoveries found when reading the passage. Step twelve describes the revising of the essay to help the writer clear any mistakes and to sharpen his meaning to his audience reading his written essay.

Answering to Question:

I usually find myself writing very bad first draft in all my writing in the past. Luckily, the revision process I do helps make the draft clearer for the audience to interpret my points on the given subject. While reading Lamott’s passage from a book “Bird by Bird”, I stumble the thought of all her evidence were all personal to her life experience which has weaken the message of her overall passage. Although it may not be the life experience everyone might go through their life, she does give out good points that many professional writers do in fact write really bad first drafts in their career. A missing point to Lamott’s main point on writing bad first drafts is failure to address the possibility of some writers in the world who may claim they do not write very bad first drafts in their whole life. In reading the passage, I might have widen my perspective even more by taking the initiative that people in general are not perfect and are more likely to write very bad first drafts when doing a writing assignment in their lifetime.

2 thoughts on “Learning Journal One”

  1. a) I like how you view writing as a tool to connect people through empathy and mutual understanding. I also like how you find a place with peace and quiet before you start writing.

    b) I learned that it is important to fully understand the prompt before diving into the essay. This is a step that I sometimes overlook and take for granted. It may be helpful for me to more carefully annotate and analyze the prompt before I begin writing.

    c) I wonder about the perspective of writing that you are looking for and the depth of the connections you will convey to your audience (such as the emotions displayed, the thoughts and opinions intertwined within your words, and experiences that you share).

    Like

  2. What do you mean writing connects other people?
    I find your “waiting 48 hrs before revision” interesting, since I’m used to revise my draft as soon as it is done. Next time I might also try to wait until my thoughts about the writing topic are cleared to revise my essay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

